food prep day – sun, feb 19

I start Jamie Eason’s LiveFit trainer tomorrow. The nutrition plan isn’t all that different than the way I normally eat, except, as I found tonight weighing on my food scale, the protein portions are significantly more!

Um. SCORE!

The goal in Phase 1, which lasts four weeks, is to build muscle and endurance. The BEST way to build muscles is feeding them protein! I’m a meat eatin’ girl so the more protein I can eat the better.

I kept things pretty simple in the kitchen this week, but tried out some new things so I don’t get bored with my food before week’s end. I think the key to successful healthy eating is PLANNING, PREPPING and VARIETY.

I splurged a little and bought this extra lean pork tenderloin I just knew would be divine shredded on corn tortillas, or even wrapped in a slice of Ezekial bread with some mustard. Sprayed it with Italian no calorie dressing then topped off with my 4 grams of sugar per serving BBQ sauce I found…

Put the crockpot on high and let this bad boy cook away while I prep around it.

Another dish I needed to get going to let simmer for hours was my FIRST attempt at pasta sauce. I love Italian men food, so I wanted a lower sodium version and was determined to make it from scratch. I tossed everything but the kitchen sink into the food processor…

Added some olive oil, balsamic vinegar, oregano, parsley, italian seasoning and garlic to the puree and let it simmer for five hours.

I decided to try something a little different this week. Instead of packaging proteins/carbs/veggies together, I grouped them in bulk so I would have more options every morning when packing my lunchbag. I’ve found in the past that sometimes I don’t want green beans with fish, but since they are already together, I’m sorta stuck. I made batches of chicken, weighed them into 6 oz portions and put them in baggies…

Next up was chicken muffins. Similiar to Jamie Eason’s meatloaf muffins, but since I’m not a big fan of meatloaf texture, I kept these pretty simple. Red and green peppers, onions (all chopped in my food processor and put in tupperware for easy cooking during the week), plus a little saurkraut (cause I love it) some Lea & Perrins, seasonings and hot chili peppers mixed into ground chicken.

Weighed them out, to be sure I was on track. (Did I mention a food scale is so much fun?)Baked at 350 for 25 minutes…DELICIOUS!

I almost forgot that I started by grinding more oat flour. SUCH an easy process. Toss the quick oats in, grind, done!

Billie Chili was next, although I decided to make it seperately this time to make sure the protein portion was correct. I simmered black and kidney beans with tomatoes and zucchini…

Then browned the extra lean ground turkey with onions, added 4-6 oz ground turkey to 3/4 cup of bean mixture (portion size for beans) for small meals, then put the rest in fridge for carbs to add to other proteins.

Salmon patties, which I have been meaning to make for weeks. I used one can of Alaskan Pink Salmon, added 1 tbsp egg whites and 1/2 cup oat flour, Mrs Dash Fiesta Lime seasoning…”fake fried” in a skillet with olive oil no calorie spray.

3/4 cup of the highest protein, lowest sugar greek yogurt I could find, with a dollop of sugar free blackberry preserves.

Large portion of whole wheat angel hair pasta to add to any protein serving to make a meal.

3/4 cup of whole wheat pasta is serving size

A big giant salad with all my favorite veggies to be portioned out each morning.

 And OF COURSE my protein muffins, inspired by Jamie Eason’s protein pumpkin bars.

I prefer to make mine into muffins, since 4 squares of her bars = one serving, easier for me to make them into individual muffins. I also prefer to make them with a little more protein powder and a lil less flour, I will post the exact recipe this week!

Not to be forgotten, my pork tenderloin cooking happily in the crockpot? Shredded wth two forks for quick mexican tacos on corn tortillas or healthy NACHOS!

And my always so patient Adorables, giving our dog, Idabel, a new hairdo and watching Justin Bieber while mommy cooks 🙂

www.facebook.com/healthyisthenewhappy

12 thoughts on “food prep day – sun, feb 19

  1. Thanks so much for posting all of this!! So helpful and inspirational. I am not doing the Live Fit plan to a T, as I am training for triathlons, but I am following the diet and lifting 4-5 days a week (while doing my tri training). I have lost 20 pounds so far, and have 20+ pounds to lose and know this is the healthiest way to do it! Thanks for showing us the right way!!

    • . Qo Ekamutn Internetum internet busnseis dproc@ iskapes bacarik hnaravorutun er boloris hamar . Ays mi qani shabatva @ntacqum mez aynqan proffesional ev kazmakerpvac kerpov matucvec nor informacian ,vor Internet busnseis ashxarh@ darcav miangamamayn harazat vayr indz hamar ev es patrastvum em hastatvel ev sharunakel aystex. Bolor nranq ovqer derevs tarakusum en masnakcel nor sksvox daserin te voch ,es mecaguin patasxanatvutiamb ev vstahutiamb erashxavorum em ,masnakceq ev dzer arjev kbacven nor drner ,hnaravorutunner ev iharke amboxjovin nor giteliqner Da dzezanic shat ban chi xli,ev ardunqum inch kunennaq anhamemateli e linelu !!! Mi hapaxeq !!!

  2. Erin, I really believe her program is just a great foundation for anyone! It’s so simliar to the program I followed losing 100 lbs, and the way I have eaten to maintain! I love the flexibility of her nutrition plan especially!

  3. Thank you soo much for posting this!!!…..I did prepping yesterday…..I need to be a little better at it…you def. have this down to a art!!…..Thank God I found you and am learning all kinds of great tips and information!!!!

  4. Billie remember I have been at this for about five years now…the food prepping is relatively new to me, but I’ve been juggling all this for a long time! Practice makes perfect sista! Thanks so much 🙂 And Michelle, goodness I am a sucker for those Italian men! 😉

  5. Just to clarify because this is all new to me: the quick oats is what you used to make the oat flour? Or did I get that wrong. Also, what all do you use oat flour for and how is it a better alternative to the norm? Thanks so much for all of these posts! I’m learning so much from your blog and FB page! 🙂

  6. Stumbled across your blog a few weeks ago and I’ve really enjoyed reading it. I too will be starting a “food prep Sunday” next weekend and will definitely be using some of your recipes and ideas. A couple of questions though: 1.) What brand are the serving spoons you referenced in a previous blog? I’d like to get some. 2.) I’ve noticed in your salads, you use what appears to be iceberg lettuce. I’ve always been under the impression that it is one of the least nutritious types of lettuce. Is there a reason that you use it over say, spinach? Is it just a taste thing for you?

    • The spoons used to be sold through LTD catalogue, but I’m not sure if they still have them. I would do a search for portion control spoons! I wish I liked raw spinach more, but I just don’t. I have tried so many times and just cannot do it…so I use iceberg and pile it with lots of veggies. YES, spinach is much better for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

